A passion for food + fashion

Losing My Religion

In Food on February 28, 2009 at 5:20 pm


For Lent I gave up dessert, and just a few days in, I’m quickly losing my religion. I haven’t caved yet, but my dad isn’t making it any easier with these Butterscotch Pecan Cookies from Tate’s Bake Shop. My husband says they are crisp and buttery, and that he is going to have another one “for me.” 

Note: my camera is outta juice so unfortunately I can’t upload all the fun we had at Oxbow today. But stay tuned as soon as I can get my hands on a charger (which I cleverly left in L.A.)…

  1. tate’s is not just a bakeshop but an obsession in the hamptons where i spent many of my last 15 summers. something about the fact that they’re crisp, and ever-so-slightly salty, which i know you love (sorry…) allows me to convince myself that they are more a cracker, not a cookie, so i keep them in my tennis bag and eat them by the sleeve. my friend pavia and i refer to them as “deep fried cookies.” chocolate chip walnut is my fave. the good news is, they’ll still be there in however many weeks you have. maybe kathleen will even send you some as a reward for your goodness…


  2. and the cutest hostess gift.. thank you Claire John.

Leave a Reply

