A passion for food + fashion

A Model English Muffin

In Food, Out of Town on February 28, 2009 at 10:31 am


The English muffins at the Model Bakery in St. Helena are what I crave most when I come home to visit my parents and sister. They’re made from Ciabatta dough and then griddled in cornmeal. Yeah, real, real good. This morning, we met my sister for a cup of coffee and a breakfast sandwich at Model. The breakfast sandwich is made on one of these heavenly English muffins with scrambled egg, sliced ham and cheddar cheese. And thus begins my sympathy-carbo-loading for her marathon run tomorrow. Breakfast of champions!

eggsandwichRumor is that Model might shut down its original St. Helena location, and just keep their new bakery open at Oxbow Market in Napa. I think I would throw myself into traffic if this happened. Model has been around for more than 80 years; bread is still baked in ovens from the 1920s, and it has been my neighborhood bakery since I was a kid.


  1. That would be so tragic! Damn you, Oxbow. That place is a little bit of a catch-22. Kind of touristy but I do like Pica Pica because it’s the only Venezuelan joint in the area. Have you tried the arepas there? If you have any curiosity, try the reina pepeada, a traditional chicken salad with garlicky avocado spread.

Leave a Reply

