A passion for food + fashion

Humboldt Fog

In Drink, Food on February 23, 2009 at 8:34 am


Yesterday my friend Jill hosted a red carpet arrivals viewing party, for which the dress code was “tiaras and sweats mandatory.” (I dusted off my wedding tiara, but we ended up two tiaras shy so she found a couple of fezzes in her attic.) She put out a fantastic spread of cheeses, including Humboldt Fog, which always reminds me that even though I think I don’t like goat cheese, in fact I do. I love the vegetable ash ribbon running through the middle of Humboldt Fog. Jill had picked out a perfectly ripened piece, which was so tangy and creamy with oozy edges. It was particularly pleasant with the Perrier Jouët Grand Brut (toasty, spicy) served in these totally great Faberge flutes from her mother-in-law.


  1. Humboldt Fog is a particularly delicious goat cheese. Cypress Groves, its maker, has several delectable types but my favorite is a sheep cheese stamped with a young sheep riding a Harley called Lamb Chopper. Midnight Moon is also good. We who live in Humboldt are blessed to have such an excellent cheese maker here.

    And, by the way, I like your comments policy.

Leave a Reply

