A passion for food + fashion

Queens of Green

In Fashion, Film on February 22, 2009 at 10:23 pm


Oscar fashion this year was a serious snooze. Red, black, white—we get it. Natalie Portman looked incredible in Rodarte because she’s incapable of making a fashion misstep, but in general, no great hits and no great misses (with the possible exception of Miley Cyrus’s clam gown, but she’s a kid so who cares). But I was sort of obsessed with Angelina Jolie’s Lorraine Schwartz emeralds. It got me thinking about other great emerald Oscar moments. Last year, it was Jacqueline Durran’s Oscar win for Costume Design in Atonement based, let’s face it, on this dress alone:


Also, last year, a gorgeous pregnant Cate Blanchett rocked some serious emeralds from Lorraine Schwartz:


And then who has ever worn the color better than Angelica Huston for her 1985 Oscar win for Prizzi’s Honor?


Julianne Moore took a turn in an amazing Tom Ford for YSL emerald frock at the Academy Awards in 2003 when she was nominated for both Far From Heaven and The Hours:


I guess I’ve been fixated on emerald green for the past few weeks since Oscar-winner Jennifer Connelly wore that INSANE dress from Balmain at the He’s Just Not That Into You premiere:


Update 1/23/09: I am begrudgingly addressing my friend Jill’s comment about Oscar-winner Gwyneth Paltrow’s turn in emerald in Great Expectations. I didn’t initially include it because TheFoodinista.com is a Gwyneth-free zone. But I’ll make an exception, since Donna Karan deserves a nod for this:


  1. you left out my favorite green, Gwyneth Paltrow in Great Expectations. I know she’s annoying but the use of green in her costume design was impressive

  2. Totally agree, those emerald earrings on Jolie were the only thing worth looking at. Although I did think there were a few plastic surgery train wrecks (i.e. Mickey Rourke and Sophia Loren), but I guess that’s always the case at the Oscars.

  3. As someone who wears an inordinate amount of black, I have long used the trick of accenting my outfits with boldly colored accessories. One person I thought it worth mentioning who also uses this trick often, and very well I might add, is Cameron Diaz, though she tends to go for turquoise not emerals. SJP or Pat Fields also employed the idea with great results!

  4. I know this blog is about the Queens of green, but remember when Drew Barrymore went braless in a green number? I had to Google it – Golden Globes 2006. Now, if you’ll excuse me while I go wash my eyes out with soap…

    • Oh lord, when Gucci goes horribly, horribly wrong – that was GGs 2006. The dress was not to blame – it was AMAZING. But I do give Drew credit for going on SNL and spoofing the dress.

  5. Oooh, I noticed those emeralds, too–especially the matching ring. There’s something superhero-ish about giant emeralds. Or maybe it’s just that when they’re that big they remind me of kryptonite. In a good way, of course.

Leave a Reply

