A passion for food + fashion

Cava Craving

In Drink on February 19, 2009 at 8:12 am


I’ve been home from Spain for weeks now, but have yet to get off the cava train. This bottle of German Gilabert Cava Reserva ($15) isn’t making it any easier to disembark. Although German Gilabert Cava starred in last week’s Valentine’s Wine Guide, here we are a week later and I’m still talking about it. And I’m not the only one. My friend Lenny “assassinated a couple of lobsters and washed them down” with a bottle of the German Gilabert last weekend, while my sister enjoyed a few sips of the stuff on Saturday night while nibbling on some jamón she picked up at Surfas. Last night my husband and I uncorked another bottle with Indian takeout, and I think the combo was dangerously good, emphasis on dangerous—the chicken tikka masala was unusually spicy, and so, you know, cava helped temper the heat, but then the tikka masala was so good that I had to have more…cava. Plus, I feel like a traitor. I promised Tony C that the next time we ordered Indian, I’d drink Vimto. Sorry Tony, next time—I promise for real. (Is Vimto as good as cava???) vimto

In the meantime, I hope I didn’t buy the last bottle of the German Gilabert yesterday at Larchmont Wine & Spirits. Tell me they have more….

  1. I wanted to offer a fab drink recipe that I concocted recently for a friends baby shower. In her honor we dubbed it “The Nantini.” It was a huge hit and would be wonderful for a cocktail party or “Gossip Girl” night with girlfriends (though the boys at our co-ed shower seemed to enjoy it too). Enjoy!
    You can make these by-the-glass or in a large pitcher and garnish individually:
    3 parts Prosecco sparkling wine
    1 part Pomegranate juice
    1 squeeze of grapefruit juice
    1 tsp of Pomegranate berries for garnish

  2. Foodinista.. shame on you.. but.. I’m afraid you will HATE me after the Vimto. So.. Cava it is?

  3. I just picked this up for my restaurant. OMG, it is sooooo good!

    Congrats on Martha Stewart.

Leave a Reply

