A passion for food + fashion

Winter Vegetables

In Food, On Location: Out and About in L.A. on February 10, 2009 at 8:31 am


Although it was raining on Sunday morning, it was crazy busy at the Larchmont Farmer’s Market but with all the incredible winter vegetables on offer, you can see why. I’ll share a few photos of my haul. I stocked up on carrots, celery root, purple broccoli, onions and red potatoes.


Can we pause for a moment to talk about how gorgeous and gnarled celery root is?

celery root I remembered seeing a recipe for a savory Winter Vegetable Cobbler from a book called The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever on the Chronicle Books website, and so inspired, I cobbled together (did I really just pun? I hate that) a makeshift version with some of my farmer’s market finds. I thinly sliced up celery root, potatoes, carrots and chopped some onions, and then simmered them in chicken stock for 10 minutes. 


Then I made a half recipe of the cobbler dough from the original recipe, adding in some cracked black pepper. The vegetables went into an 8 x 10 cast iron roasting dish, and I poured some chicken stock mixed with a little cornstarch and a few pats of butter. [Note on butter pats, I scaled waaaay back on the stick of butter the recipe called for, but I’m sure it is all the better as originally written.] Then I placed the dough over the veggies, and baked at 375 for about 45 minutes. It tasted honest, hearty and healthy—see above note on butter. Which is probably why I caught my husband scarfing minis of Nestlé Crunch in the kitchen later.


  1. Perfect-I’ve been eye-ing the celery root here in Brooklyn and wondering what to do with it!

Leave a Reply

