A passion for food + fashion

Six Degrees of Nancy Silverton

In Food on February 7, 2009 at 11:50 pm

Alex Gallardo / Los Angeles Times

Alex Gallardo / Los Angeles Times

Earlier today I got a facebook invitation to join a group called Send a Buck to Kevin Bacon, the premise being that each member would send $1 to Kevin Bacon care of his agent at the William Morris Agency to help him recoup substantial losses from the Bernie Madoff Ponzi scheme. For my money, I’d rather send my buck to Nancy Silverton, who lost her entire life savings—including her profits from the sale of La Brea Bakery—in the fiasco. EVERYTHING. She has kids to put through school, and it’s not like restaurants are exactly raking it in in this economy. Can you imagine??? I have enormous respect for her for being so forthcoming about the ordeal in this Los Angeles Times story, and also for being grace under pressure personified. Always. (Plus, can you stand how CHIC she is in this photograph????) Which is why on our next date night or date afternoon, my husband and I are getting a sitter for Tiny G and heading over to Pizzeria Mozza to do our part. Starting with the chicken liver bruschetta, moving right into the egg, guanciale, radicchio, escarole & bagna cauda pizza with a tricolore salad on the side and a quartino of Barbera d’Alba, and ending emphatically with the butterscotch budino.

  1. I read about that! Yes, completely agree–save Nancy Silverton.

    Love your blog, by the way. Fashion + Food = Happiness.

  2. Thank you for this. My husband and I have been regulars at Mozza (Pizzeria!) since week one, and we will forever support Nancy in whatever she does. And yes… the Budino rocks but I am personally all about Nancy’s chicken liver. I keep trying to make it at home, but it just doesn’t take as PERFECT as the smooth chicken liver and guanciale at Mozza.

Leave a Reply

