A passion for food + fashion

Inaugural Fashion: Real World Edition

In Fashion on January 17, 2009 at 9:45 am

jeandarc

 

There’s been a fair amount of discussion about what to wear to the various inaugural balls, and a fantastic story on the subject written by my friend Adam, which will appear in tomorrow’s Image section of the LA Times (click here for sneak preview). But what about fashion for the masses who will be freezing their tails off on the mall? My friend Emily is DC-bound with her family, and here’s her plan:

I think I’ll take a puffy vest and a big warm coat to go over it. Long johns. Ski socks. I might buy some Sorels—I’ve wanted them forever and I think they’re kind of chic.

I’m totally with Emily on the Sorel front. I have a pair of classic Caribous in buff that are going on 18 years old, so it’s probably time to update. I’m loving the Joan of Arctic model with faux fur trim in “hawk” (see above photo). Here are some favorite picks to complete the inaugural look.

Burberry short double-breasted trench in cashmere/wool

Burberry short double-breasted trench in cashmere/wool

 

Patagonia down vest in sable.

Patagonia down vest in sable.

 

Missoni cashmere color-block gloves.

Missoni cashmere color-block gloves.

  1. Reporting from DC: It’s very, very cold here … I’m even seeing a lot of furs. And considering that DC just filled up with a bunch of lefty dems, that’s really saying something. The accessory du moment for concert at the Lincoln Memorial: hand warmers.

Leave a Reply

