A passion for food + fashion

Schnuffel Bunny and Berlin

In Media on January 8, 2009 at 5:56 pm


Berlin is one of those places I’m dying to visit, particularly because I love reading Nick Currie’s fashion and design reports from Berlin in his NY Times blog, The Post-Materialist. My husband is there for work every six weeks or so, but I guess I need to go for myself so that I can reconcile Currie’s lens on Berlin culture with my husband’s reports, namely, that the German pop-anime sensation Schnuffel Bunny, has topped German AND European charts with his song “Snuggle.” And there’s no irony involved. (Schnuffel is a local, btw, having been created by Berlin-based Jamba!) This morning I asked my husband how Schnuffel was doing and he said, “Oh, it’s all Eddy the Bear now.” Can someone please explain a city that gave birth to Helmut Newton and Schnuffel Bunny? And now a poolside playboy teddy bear named Eddy Bär. Ich bin ein Berliner, indeed.

Leave a Reply

