A passion for food + fashion

Crazy for Polenta Pudding Cake!

In Drink, Food on December 13, 2008 at 12:26 am


I’m never sure whether to take this as a compliment or an insult, but my husband claims this Polenta Pudding Cake with Blackberry Compote and Mascarpone Cream was a motivating factor in our moving in together.  I think his grandmother’s Georg Jensen Mitra flatware, circa 1941 (see fork above), didn’t hurt either. What makes this cake so great, besides being quick to assemble, is that the polenta in a dessert format is a total surprise—I like to use a mix of 1/3 cup of coarser Golden Pheasant Polenta for a crunchy element mixed with 2/3 cup of finer stone-ground cornmeal, such as Arrowhead Mills. Adding mascarpone to whipped cream is heavenly, and it adds texture. Where I divert from the recipe: I cook for 1 hour 20 mins.  This recipe calls for stewing blackberries, but forget it. I use a bag of frozen Oregon marionberries, which you can occasionally find in the frozen section at Whole Foods, sprinkle a little sugar over and douse in grappa and let sit while the cake bakes and then serve over warm cake with cream. But you probably shouldn’t use the beautifully smooth  Jacopo Poli Vespaiolo Grappa ($75), like the bottle my dad gave me. Because that would be crazy.

  1. this is indeed the most amazing cake ever!!!

Leave a Reply

