A passion for food + fashion

Take Me Home for the Holidays!

In Design, Food on December 1, 2012 at 10:21 am

strata

This morning my husband and I got up in the wee hours to finish baking two Goat Cheese & Prosciutto Stratas for the Larchmont Charter West bake sale, organized by my cooking club amigas Carrie and Jessica, whose children go to school to there. (An aside: It’s a little intimidating to be cooking for a school bake sale at which Suzanne Goin is also a parent, but I digress.) Carrie had asked that we decorate and label our baked goods, a small detail I’d overlooked until 11 o’clock last night. Fortunately I had a stash of paper grocery bags from Whole Foods that read “Take Me Home for the Holidays,” which I’d not previously registered until scrambling for some brown paper last night.

wholefoodsbag

I cut up the bags and wrapped them around the baking dish with some bakers twine. I’m so happy with the results, which cost nothing and are an easy, eco-friendly way to wrap holiday and hostess gifts. Added bonus, I am now officially in the Christmas spirit!

  1. Would you be so kind as to share the strata recipe? I’m a friend of jill burnham’s. i love your blog, thank you!

  2. Clever girl. They look great! I’m now officially in the strata spirit.

  3. Brilliant!

  4. Great! I love the string.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 257 other followers

