A passion for food + fashion

Archive for October 23rd, 2011|Daily archive page

Pasta with Swiss Chard & Bacon

In Food, Recipes on October 23, 2011 at 5:28 pm

If you haven’t already checked out Los Angeles Magazine‘s Farmers Market issue, get thee to the newsstands immediately! I have a short item in there about my weekly CSA bag on page 143! While the headline is a bit provocative (“Why I Skip the Market”—I don’t. I go religiously every week), the piece mentions my very favorite part of participating in a CSA, which is a friendly neighborhood challenge I have with a few friends to use everything in the bag each week. This week we were handed an exorbitant amount of Swiss chard.

I remembered a super comforting recipe we ran in Bon Appétit several years ago for Bacon and Swiss Chard Pasta. You sauté some bacon, then sauté onions in bacon fat (do I have your attention yet?) and add Swiss chard until it wilts, then sprinkle with parm and drizzle with balsamic vinegar. Toss in fresh fettuccine or linguine. That simple, that delicious. And bye-bye, chard, for this week anyway. For recipe, click HERE.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 260 other followers