A passion for food + fashion

Archive for July 29th, 2010|Daily archive page

Vintage Heath

In Design on July 29, 2010 at 6:55 pm

This post is so long overdue, it’s embarrassing. Earlier this spring, my in-laws were visiting from the East Coast. For Mother’s Day, my husband picked out a beautiful trio of Heath Ceramics bud vases in a chartreuse, aqua blue and natural for my mother-in-law to go in her “Florida room” at their home in Gulf Stream. We are nuts for Heath over here and based the entire color scheme for our home on my favorite Heath glaze, French Grey. My mother-in-law mentioned a few pieces of Heath she’d picked up several decades ago at a thrift shop that were more in our kitchen’s color scheme than hers. The next week, I opened a package from my mother-in-law containing this vintage pitcher, creamer and sugar set in a long-retired glaze that is heaven. I love the faintly mottled look of it, and the bright turquoise interior. Oh, and that we own a little piece of American history from this beloved Sausalito company.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers