A passion for food + fashion

Archive for July 25th, 2010|Daily archive page

Buttermilk Ranch Dressing

In Food, Recipes on July 25, 2010 at 11:42 pm

The other night I got an email from my fabby friend Anne that said “we’re cookin’ with gas tonight. fresh rabbit with rosemary, garlic, little gems lettuces from farmers market with persian cucumbers and homemade buttermilk ranch.” Naturally I demanded photos. Anne indulged me and sent the above, along with a few snaps of the lapin marinating and oak chips soaking. I knew I had to SWF her. This morning my husband stopped at Puritan Poultry in the Farmer’s Market at Third/Fairfax, and had them cut up a rabbit into 8 pieces. More on that tomorrow. And me? I made a batch of Anne’s dressing. Mr. Foodinista took one taste and said “this is the kind of dressing you don’t want to share.” It’s that good.

Anne’s Buttermilk Ranch

1 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup mayo
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/8 teaspoon sweet paprika
1/4 teaspoon dry mustard
1 tablespoon chopped parsley
1 teaspoon fresh chopped chives
1 teaspoon fresh chopped dill
Black pepper
Lemon juice to taste (about a teaspoon)

Mix buttermilk and mayo till smooth then add the rest of the ingredients. Let rest in fridge for an hour before serving.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers