A passion for food + fashion

Archive for July 1st, 2010|Daily archive page

Ladurée Macarons

In Fashion, Food on July 1, 2010 at 9:14 am

On my first trip to Paris back in 1982, my grandfather took me to Ladurée on Rue Royale every day for a macaron. As a kid, my favorite flavor was chocolat. By the time I moved to Paris at the age of 25, I’d moved on from chocolat and liked to pop into the patisserie for a large macaron a la pistache before going to catch a flick at the Le Champo. These days, what with a two-year-old running around, I don’t find myself in Paris much (read: EVER). It’s been three years since I’ve been back, but no matter. My friends Adam and Booth go a couple times a year to cover the fashion shows and on their last day in town, they stop by Ladurée and get some minis to go. This week, fresh off the men’s shows, Adam brought back to Vermont an assortment of pistache (still my favorite), caramel with salted butter and the latest flavor—mimosa! C’est si bon! And check out this gorgeous box, designed by two Ottoman princesses and sisters, Yaz and Emel Kurhan of the Paris-based Yazbukey line. Je l’adore! Thank you, Adam!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers