A passion for food + fashion

Australian for F’ing Delicious

In Food on December 8, 2009 at 10:35 am

Pardon my enthusiasm and salty language, especially where a Pepperidge Farm commercial cookie is involved, but I’m enjoying a Tim Tam with my morning coffee and have gotten away from myself, just a little. A Tim Tam, you ask? Allow me to introduce you, mate. The Tim Tam is Australia’s favorite cookie, or so the package boasts, and it involves chocolate creme sandwiched between malted chocolate cookies. Booth, Kathleen and I were each gifted with a package from our Australian friend Susie, who looked divine in bright red lipstick on Friday night. But enough about lipstick. Get thee to a Target, and get thee a Tim Tam. And while you’re at it, could you pick up an extra pack for me?

  1. Did you slam it with your coffee? Bite a little off each end and use it like a straw. Then chuck it in your mouth. But don’t take too long, it’ll collapse on you.

  2. I would have to agree, I lived in New Zealand for 6 months and ate them on the regular. Now back in the US I missed them terribly, so when I heard they would be at Target I ran out and got a bunch! MMM delicious! Try a Tim Tam Slam if your a real enthusiast! Melt in your mouth fantastic!

  3. Have you done the Tim Tam Slam yet??? Because it is f’ing AWESOME. Bite off opposite corners of a cookie, put one corner in a hot drink (I use coffee), and use cookie as straw. Once you get some cookie/coffee deliciousness slurped up, pop entire cookie in your mouth and crunch/enjoy. Australians are all clearly cookie geniuses.

  4. Oh my… if I had a dollar for every Tim Tam I ate when I lived in Sydney, then I would have returned to the US rich and not 20 pounds heavier. Sigh!
    Actually, it was one of the happiest days of my life when I realized that you can, in fact, buy them in the US. Although, you do have to go back to Oz to get them in all of the other flavors, I think… flavors like Chewy Caramel and Honeycomb and the very dangerous Double Coat!
    Wow – I think I’m going to pass out just thinking about it…

  5. My family and I tried these a couple of weeks ago and we are all addicted! So, so good. Not too many peeps in my Redondo neighborhood know about them it seems, they they are always fully stocked at the store. More for me!!

  6. The Landmark theater here in West LA sells them along with their other interesting variety of snacks. Can’t say I’m a fan of Tim Tams, but I may have to try this coffee slurping thing out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers

