A passion for food + fashion

Pimm’s Cup

In Drink, Recipes on March 30, 2009 at 9:56 am

pimms

My dad called last week to remind me that yesterday was Race Day. No, we’re not talking about The Tour de France, Kentucky Derby or Indy 500, but the annual Oxford-Cambridge Boat Race (my dad’s college was St. Catherine’s, so the Oxford victory yesterday was the outcome hoped for). What better excuse to make a mint-filled pitcher of Pimm’s Cup, the traditional English cocktail of Pimm’s No. 1 liquor, bitter lemon soda, strawberries, fresh mint, cucumbers and orange slices! (I also like to add blueberries and a splash of gin.) When we lived in England as kids, they’d serve these marvelous cocktails at weddings and boat races. Kids got the unleaded versions with no Pimm’s, but truth be told we were missing the the best part, and that’s letting the fruit soak up the booze and eating once the cocktail is finished. 

Tiny G and I went to the Larchmont Farmer’s Market yesterday, and got a bunch of beautiful berries and mint. And my husband picked up some Fever Tree bitter lemon at Whole Foods. Then I mixed up a pitcher, and took it across the street and knocked back a glass or too with my neighbor Alyssa. It’s a cocktail that is greatly enhanced by sharing.

img_1647

mint

PIMM’S CUP

Makes one pitcher, or four cocktails

1 cup Pimm’s No. 1

4 6.8 ounce bottles Fever Tree Bitter Lemon

Splash of London Dry gin 

Cucumber, peeled and thinly sliced

Strawberries and blueberries

Orange slices

Fresh mint

Fill a pitcher with ice. Add Pimm’s, bitter lemon, cucumber, fruit and mint. Stir gently and serve.

  1. My affinity for the Pimm’s Cup knows few limits…I’ve crossed ponds proclaiming its glory :) I linked to an article about Pimm’s on my blog: http://thecongenialhour.tumblr.com/post/7135750191/the-glory-of-the-pimms-cup It was around the finals of Wimbledon, of course! I like to use French lemonade or lemon-flavored Italian soda in mine….ginger ale is also a nice mixer. And I poured a few Pimm’s Royales with Freixinet for my birthday. Love them!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 262 other followers

