A passion for food + fashion

Word: Wurstküche

In Food, On Location: Out and About in L.A. on February 22, 2009 at 10:27 am

img_1076

I don’t even know where to start. For those of you familiar with Wurstküche—a “purveyor of exotic grilled sausages”—downtown on 3rd/Traction, you will no doubt pardon me if I GUSH. (Wurstküche is German for sausage kitchen.) I can’t remember the last time I loved a restaurant so much! You walk in and there’s a case of 20 varieties of sausage, ranging from the familiar Hot Italian and Chicken Apple to Rattlesnake and Rabbit with Jalapeño Peppers, and everything in between. The menu options are concise – grilled sausage with a choice of grilled hot or sweet peppers, onions or ‘kraut on a roll and Belgian fries, which you can top with white truffle oil or one of their excellent dipping sauces. They offer 24 beers on tap (mostly Belgian) as well as artisanal sodas (Sweet Blossom elder flower soda, Manhattan Special espresso soda).

Oh – and word to Teri Hatcher, who stormed out while we were ordering like she was being chased by an army of paparazzi (she wasn’t): nobody, and I mean nobody, cares. Especially, by the looks of it, the poor guy you were dragging behind you.

Anyway, I ordered a buffalo, beef and pork with chipotle sausage, topped with grilled sweet peppers and onions, and a Chimay White. My husband got a Louisiana Hot Link with sauerkraut, a Houblon Chouffe pale ale (hoppy fruity deliciousness) and we shared an order of Belgian fries with curry ketchup (on the recommendation of the guy next to us in line, who looked like he knew his way around the menu). 

img_1073chimay

Once you place your order, you go down a long narrow hall to this raucous dining room with big communal tables and benches, seating at the bar as well as little bistro tables. So much fun. We’re going back immediately. 

bar

  1. Ok. That’s it. I am going to go within the next few days. I’m tired of reading from fellow bloggers about how wonderful this place is.

    Meat paradise here a I come.

  2. Hit that joint a month ago. Will return as the dog was great and the beer selection unbelievably great. Little wine bar across the street is nice afterwards.

  3. Love Wurstkuche and can’t wait to go back for the Duck & Bacon with Jalapeno Pepper Sausage… it was so good, it made my eyes roll back in my head!

  4. I had the Duck sausage too! my god… (Wave to Jo)
    St. Bernardus 12 on tap, an tres chic room, uber expensive sausages grilled to perfection combined to conquer all doubts due to overhype.

  5. […] Wurstkuche was hyped, mocked, and reviewed to death. ie: LA & HC foodventures potatotomato FoodGPS alli411 Foodinista […]

  6. I’ve said this before on other comment pages, but I’ll say it again, I love Wurstkuche. They always give you a great sausage, fries, and beer. What more can you ask for. Plus the employees are great.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 262 other followers

